Minimum Wage increases for 2018

By  | 

United States - Across the country, many Americans will ring in 2018 with a raise, including Colorado.

On Dec. 31 and Jan. 1, the minimum wage will go up in 18 states and about 20 cities and counties, according to an analysis by the National Employment Law Project.

In some cases, the increases put employees closer to a $15 an hour minimum wage, or what workers' rights advocates call the "living wage."

The state of Colorado is raising minimum wage to $10.20 an hour. This comes after the passage of Amendment 70 in 2016 which raises the minimum wage each year until it reaches $12 per hour in January 2020.

In some areas, wages are going up, but remain closer to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. Congress hasn't voted to raise the minimum wage in more than a decade.

Here's where workers will see their pay rise in the new year, and how much they'll begin to make.

Alaska: $9.84 an hour
Albuquerque, New Mexico: $8.95 an hour
Arizona: $10.50 an hour
Bernalillo County, New Mexico: $8.85 an hour
California: $11 an hour for businesses with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for businesses with 25 or fewer employees
Colorado: $10.20 an hour
Cupertino, California: $13.50 an hour
El Cerrito, California: $13.60 an hour
Flagstaff, Arizona: $11 an hour
Florida: $8.25 an hour
Hawaii: $10.10 an hour
Los Altos, California: $13.50 an hour
Maine: $10 an hour
Michigan: $9.25 an hour
Milpitas, California: $12 an hour
Minneapolis, Minnesota: $10 an hour for businesses with more than 100 employees
Minnesota: $9.65 an hour for businesses with annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more; $7.87 an hour for businesses with annual gross revenue of less than $500,000
Missouri: $7.85 an hour
Montana: $8.30 an hour
Mountain View, California: $15 an hour
New Jersey: $8.60 an hour
New York: $13 an hour for standard New York City businesses with 11 for more employees; $12 an hour for standard New York City businesses with 10 or fewer employees; $11 an hour for standard workers in Long Island and Westchester; $10.40 for standard workers in the rest of New York state; $13.50 for fast food workers in New York City; $11.75 for fast food workers in the rest of the state
Oakland, California: $13.23 an hour
Ohio: $8.30 an hour
Palo Alto, California: $13.50 an hour
Rhode Island: $10.10 an hour
Richmond, California: $13.41 an hour
San Jose, California: $13.50 an hour
San Mateo, California: $13.50 an hour for standard businesses; $12 an hour for nonprofits
Santa Clara, California: $13 an hour
SeaTac, Washington: $15.64 an hour for hospitality and transportation employees
Seattle, Washington: $15.45 an hour for businesses with 501 or more employees that don't offer medical benefits; $15 an hour for businesses with 501 or more employees that do offer medical benefits; $14 an hour for businesses with 500 or fewer employees that don't offer medical benefits; $11.50 an hour for businesses with 500 or fewer employees that do offer medical benefits
South Dakota: $8.85 an hour
Sunnyvale, California: $15 an hour
Tacoma, Washington: $12 an hour
Vermont: $10.50 an hour
Washington state: $11.50 an hour