Boys and Girls Club Youth of the Year Friday at the Holiday Inn

By: Chris Turner
By: Chris Turner

Cheyenne, WY (KGWN) - The Wyoming Alliance of Boys & Girls Clubs will host a competition in which one teen member will be named the Wyoming Youth of the Year. Being named Youth of the Year is the highest honor a Boys & Girls Club member can receive. Two Wyoming teens will be judged by Wyoming community leaders on their character, contributions to their families and communities, poise and public speaking ability as well as how well they have handled personal challenges and obstacles. A third teen from F.E. Warren Air Force Base will also participate and automatically advance to the regional competition. All three teens will give speeches in front of Wyoming dignitaries and will meet with judges. The Wyoming competition is sponsored by Rocky Mountain Power.

The state winner will go on to compete at the regional level and will receive a scholarship to the University of Wyoming. The state winner plus the military base winner will also receive $1,500 in cash scholarships from the national program sponsor, Tupperware Brands, and the Wyoming Area Council. The Wyoming runner up will receive a $500 scholarship from the Wyoming School Boards Association.

The five regional winners plus five winners from military bases across the country will each receive $10,000 in scholarships from Tupperware Brands and will ultimately contend for the title of National Youth of the Year. The national winner receives an additional scholarship of up to $50,000 plus the chance to meet the President and represent all Boys & Girls Club members throughout the country.

The 2014 Wyoming Youth of the Year finalists are:

Ms. Kaylee Nevada Williams – Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Wyoming

Ms. Kiahna Pisano – Boys & Girls Club of Cheyenne

Mr. Austin Babcock – FE Warren Youth Programs (Austin will be named the Wyoming Military Club Youth of the Year and will automatically advance to the regional competition.)

Junior Wyoming Youth of the Year finalists (non-competing) are:

Mr. Damien Gonzales – Boys & Girl Clubs of Carbon County

Mr. Gentry Smith – Boys & Girls Club of Douglas

Ms. Rachel Mayhugh – Boys & Girls Clubs of Park County

Mr. Michael Martinez-Montano – Member of Boys & Girls Club of Cheyenne

Mr. Sergio Lemuz – Member of Boys & Girls Club of Sweetwater County

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KGWN-TV 2923 E. Lincolnway Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 307-634-7755
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 246530811 -
Gray Television, Inc.