Cowgirl Basketball Completes Schedule With Addition of Conference Games

Courtesy Wyoming Media Relations:

LARAMIE, Wyo. (Aug. 1, 2014) -- Head coach Joe Legerski and the Wyoming Cowgirl basketball program announced the completion of the 2014-15 schedule with the addition of the Mountain West contests on Friday. The Cowgirls’ home schedule will feature nine MW games along with the five other non-conference contests.

Wyoming will open up the regular season with three-straight home games before hitting the road to participate in the Saint Mary’s Thanksgiving Tournament. UW will tip things off against the Western State, on Monday, Nov. 17, followed by match-ups against the Denver Pioneers, on Friday, Nov. 21 and NCAA participant Idaho Vandals, on Tuesday, Nov. 25. A Thanksgiving trip to California for the Saint Mary’s Classic, Nov. 28-29, is scheduled with contests against Howard and Iowa State over the weekend, before facing the Montana Lady Griz, on Thursday, Dec. 4 in Missoula and the Montana State Lady Cats, on Saturday, Dec. 6, in Bozeman.

UW will return home to the friendly confines of the Double A as it hosts South Dakota School of Mines, on Wednesday, Dec. 10, and the Gonzaga Bulldogs, on Friday, Dec. 12. The Cowgirls will conclude their non-conference slate on the road against the Colorado Buffaloes, on Sunday, Dec. 21, in Boulder. The Buffs participated in the WNIT tournament reaching the third round before falling to UTEP.

Wyoming begins league play on the road against the UNLV Lady Rebels, on Wed., Dec. 31. Their first home conference game will be on Saturday, Jan. 3, against the San Jose State Spartans. During the month, they will also welcome rival Colorado State, on Wednesday, Jan. 7; NCAA participant Fresno State, on Saturday, Jan. 17; and Utah State, on Wednesday, Jan. 28. The Cowgirls will welcome the Air Force Falcons and San Diego State Aztecs in back-to-back home games, on Saturday, Feb. 7 and Wednesday, Feb. 11. Nevada will visit the Double A on Wednesday, Feb. 18, while UNLV makes the trip to Laramie, on Saturday, Feb. 28. They will close out their home schedule on Friday, March 6, against New Mexico.

In all, the Cowgirls will play 18 Mountain West games, scheduled mainly on Wednesdays and Saturdays. They will play eight opponents twice in a home-and-home series and two opponents just one time. This season, they will play the Boise State Broncos, on Saturday, Jan. 10, in Boise, while hosting the Air Force Falcons, on Feb. 7.

The Mountain West tournament will be held in Las Vegas, Nev., at the Thomas & Mack Center. The first round of the tournament is set for Monday, March 9; the quarterfinals, on Tuesday, March 10; the semifinals, on Wednesday, March 11; and the championship game, on Friday, March. 13.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KGWN-TV 2923 E. Lincolnway Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 307-634-7755
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 269613901 - kgwn.tv/a?a=269613901
Gray Television, Inc.