Two Cowgirl Basketball Players Garner Postseason Honors

By  | 

Courtesy Wyoming Media Relations

Laramie, Wyo. (March 9, 2014) -- Two members of the Wyoming Cowgirl basketball team, Kayla Woodward and Fallon Lewis, were recognized on Sunday as the Mountain West announced the 2014 All-Conference Team.

“I’m very pleased for Kayla and Fallon to be recognized as All-Conference selections,” said head coach Joe Legerski. “With a 11 members in the Mountain West to be chosen is quite an honor. You need team success to have individual success which is apparent with the two of them leading us all season.”

Woodward was a First Team All-MW selection for the first time in her career while Lewis was named Honorable Mention All-MW for the first time in her career. It’s the third honor for Woodward who was a Second Team pick last season and a Third Team honoree as a freshman.

From Sheridan, Wyo., Woodward averaged a team leading 16.7 points plus 7.0 rebounds which was second on the team. She was first in three-point field goals made, third in scoring, fourth in minutes played, fifth in three-point field goal percentage and ninth in rebounding in league games. She recorded double-figures in 13 of 18 games along with two-double doubles in MW play. Woodward was named Mountain West Player of the Week once during the season.

Lewis, a senior from Dayton, Wyo., finished with 13.8 points per contest and a team high 9.9 rebounds per game. She ranked first in rebounding, third in field goal percentage and tenth in scoring in league games. Lewis recorded 14 double-figure scoring games and seven double-doubles.

The Cowgirls open up play at the 2014 Reese’s Mountain West Tournament Tuesday, March 11, in Las Vegas. Their first-round opponent will be the Boise State Broncos. Tip-off is set for 3:30 p.m. Mountain Time at the Thomas and Mack Center.

First Team All-Mountain West

Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F, Boise State

&Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State

Cierra Warren, Sr., C, San Diego State

Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State

&^Kayla Woodward, Jr., F, Wyoming

Second-Team All-Mountain West

&^!Sam Martin, Sr., F, Colorado State

AJ Newton, Jr., G, Colorado State

Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State

Gritt Ryder, Jr., G, Colorado State

Bree Farley, Sr., G, Fresno State

&Danika Sharp, Sr., G, Nevada

Honorable Mention

Arielle Wideman, Sr., G, Nevada

Antiesha Brown, Jr., G, New Mexico

Ta’Rea Cunnigan, Jr., G, San José State

Alana Cesarz, Jr., F, UNLV

Fallon Lewis, Sr., G, Wyoming

All-Defensive Team

Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F, Boise State

Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State

Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State

Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada

Elise Nelson, Jr., G, Utah State

All-Freshman Team

Yaiza Rodriguez, Fr., G, Boise State

Elin Gustavsson, Fr., G, Colorado State

Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State

Ariell Bostick, Fr., G, San Diego State

Jasmine Smith, Fr., F, San José State

Player of the Year: Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State

Co-Defensive Player of the Year:

Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State; Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada

Co-Freshman of the Year: Yaiza Rodriguez, G, Boise State;

Ellen Nystrom, G, Colorado State

Newcomer of the Year: Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F Boise State

Sixth Player of the Year: Caitlin Duffy, So., G, Colorado State

Coach of the Year: Ryun Williams, Colorado State

& 2012-13 All-MW/Defensive team selection

^ 2011-12 All-MW/Defensive team selection

! 2010-11 All-MW/Defensive team selection

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus