UW’s Garcia Named Dave Schultz Winner

By  | 

Paul “PT” Garcia, a 2013 fall signee of UW, received the Schultz Award for the state of Colorado. Given annually since 1996, the award was created in honor of Dave Schultz, an Olympic and World champion. The High School Excellence Award is based on excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship and community service.

Garcia finished off his senior season with a 42-0 mark and the 132-pound title in Class 5A, Colorado’s largest classification. He’s slated to begin wrestling with Wyoming in the fall of 2014 at 125/133 pounds. A three-time state champion and one-time runner-up as a freshman, he was an NHSCA national champion as a sophomore and was fifth as a junior. He was a 2013 USA Wrestling Junior Freestyle runner-up and a 2013 USA Wrestling Preseason National runner-up.

On the current Cowboy roster, he joins five former Schultz winners in junior Tyler Cox, junior Andy McCulley, sophomore Austin Breckenridge, redshirt freshman Benjamin Stroh and true freshman Zach Beard. In history, 10 UW letterwinners have earned the accolade.

State winners have been selected in each of the states that sponsor high school state championships. For the boys, there are 49 state winners. For the girls, there are six, from California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas and Washington. Since the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award’s inception, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame has recognized 824 wrestlers.

*Courtesy Wyoming Media Relations

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus