Boys & Girls Club Youth of the Year Winner

By  | 

CHEYENNE, Wyo. -- The winner of the 2019 Youth of the Year for Wyoming is Michael Martinez-Montano from the Boys & Girls Club of Cheyenne.

Original Press Release Below Cheyenne – One Boys & Girls Club member will be named the Wyoming Youth of the Year and earn a generous college scholarship for exemplifying outstanding efforts as a Club and community member. Three teens from Clubs around Wyoming will compete for State Youth of the Year with the winner receiving a full tuition and fees scholarship (supplement to Hathaway) to the University of Wyoming. The finalists include: Michael Martinez-Montano from the Boys & Girls Club of Cheyenne, Mickayla Maes from the Boys & Girls Club of Sweetwater County, and Kayla Messmer from the Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Wyoming.

The 2019 State Youth of the Year will be announced at a Recognition Breakfast to be held on Tuesday, Feb. 12, at Little America Hotel and Resort at 2800 West Lincolnway in Cheyenne, WY. Breakfast starts at 6:30 a.m. with the program beginning at 7 a.m. The winner will go on to compete in the Boys & Girls Clubs Southwest Region consisting of eight states.

Since 1947, Youth of the Year has been Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s premier recognition program, celebrating the extraordinary achievements of Club members. Each year, one exceptional young person from a Boys & Girls Club rises to the role of National Youth of the Year, becoming an exemplary ambassador who not only speaks as the voice of Club youth everywhere, but also stands up to represent all of our nation’s young people.

The National Youth of the Year program is sponsored by Disney and Toyota. The 2019 Wyoming Youth of the Year Recognition Breakfast is brought to you by Boys & Girls Clubs in the Wyoming Area Council and the Wyoming Alliance and sponsored by the Tate Foundation.