Eight people vying for Wyoming’s vacant Secretary of State job

By  | 

Cheyenne, Wyo. - Eight people have submitted applications to fill Wyoming’s vacant Secretary of State position.

The applicants are Pete Illoway from Cheyenne, Darin Smith from Cheyenne, Ed Buchanan from Torrington, Richard George from Powell, Max Maxfield from Cheyenne, Cynthia Cloud from Cody, Robert Elwell from Cheyenne, and Nina Webber from Thermopolis.

Since the outgoing secretary was a republican, that party gets to choose his replacement until the term is fulfilled later this year.

The State Central Committee will meet on February 24, 2018, at 1 p.m. at Little America in Cheyenne to consider the applications. Applicants will have the opportunity to address the group and answer questions. The meeting is open to the public.

Once all applicants have had an opportunity to speak, the committee will then vote on and choose the top three nominees. They will then submit those three names to Governor Mead on or before February 25. The governor then has five days to choose one name and make his appointment to the job.

The job opened when Ed Murray abruptly resigned on February 9 after two women accused him of sexual misconduct that they said occurred more than 30 years ago.